Time pressures of photojournalism

Having now captured three climate protests – two Youth Strikes and one Extinction Rebellion event, I am seeing the time pressures of photojournalism. The time frame for making your images ready to be published is much narrower than with commercial photography briefs. The longer the delay, the more irrelevant, inaccurate and out of date your images become.

I realised this when sharing photos from the first day of the London climate protests. I edited the photos on the same day but didn’t post them until the next day. As the protest is ongoing this week, my photos were already out of date, as the event had changed and progressed since I had taken them.

I am curious about how photojournalists operate – how quickly do images taken get edited and passed on? How many people are involved in reviewing and selecting images for print/online publishing? I notice many BBC articles and magazines use Getty Images – how do you get your images recognised/used by an agency as large as this?

Leave a comment