Alice Aedy | A young photojournalist & documentary film-maker

Alice Aedy is a massive inspiration, as she has managed to find a career in lens-based media that relates to her interests in social and environmental issues. Having reflected on the fact that the purpose of my work is a big motivational factor, and that I am most interested in projects which engage with social and/or environmental issues, Alice Aedy’s career path is very aspirational to me.

Her LinkedIn profile is a good record of the number of placements she has completed to reach a stage of being able to freelance as a photojournalist/filmmaker. She has had numerous intern roles at a range of media-related organisations, as well as completed a Masters in Ethnography and Documentary Film-making. These are all useful pointers to places I could contact for work experience, as well as further education I could consider.

Her website is simple and image based. There is not always much text accompanying her portfolio which allows the photography to speak for itself. Her features in the press also show some impressive names, which no doubt increases her employability and reputation.

I met Alice when I attended one of the Extinction Rebellion events and followed up with a message on LinkedIn and Instagram, but have not heard back. I think it’s always worth trying to make contact, even if you don’t get a response…

Leave a comment